March 2019,  OneVoice CSDA Newsletter

Meet Your Peers – Natalie Walter

Director of Child Support Services, County of San Luis Obispo.

I am very excited to be the new Director of Child Support Services in San Luis Obispo County.

I grew up in Canada the eldest of three children and immigrated to the United States right before I started high school. The transition was difficult at first, but I quickly adapted to the warm weather, beaches, and all the outdoor activities California has to offer. I began my career in public service in San Mateo County after graduating from San Francisco State University with a Bachelor of Social Work degree. The county wasn’t hiring social workers at that time, so I applied to be an Eligibility Worker. I started in February 1990 and a few years later found my way to the Child Welfare side of the department as a Management Analyst. Several years later I moved over to the Health Agency as a Financial Manager and left San Mateo in 2001 to relocate to the beautiful Central Coast.

In 2002, I started on the ground floor again as an Employment Resource Specialist I in the Department of Social Services and spent the next 10 years working in various positions such as a Program Manager and eventually became the Human Resources Manager. I jumped at the opportunity to start the county’s first leadership training program and spent two years building and refining the program. In 2016, I became the Deputy Director of Human Resources for the county and had no plans to ever leave! Several months ago, I was asked to be the Interim Director of Child Support Services, and to my great surprise I hadn’t realized how much I truly missed the client focused, community-based aspect of the work we do. I quickly became excited at the thought of being part of a participant service focused department again and decided to go for the Director position. I am honored by the faith the county has bestowed in me and look forward to great changes and many happy years in the department.

On a personal note, I have three children, two boys and one girl, two dogs, one cat, one rabbit (and a husband who brings me coffee in bed every morning). Our sons are 26 and 22. The oldest is a Federal Law Clerk, our middle son is graduating from Cal Poly with a degree in Economics this June, and our daughter is 15 and enjoying learning how to drive. We are avid sports fans and have loved watching our children compete in high school and club sports over the years. I am not sure we will be good empty-nesters and although I hope we are years away, I hear being a grandparent is really where it is at!